My Skincare Routine | October 2015

Hello there beauties!

Usually at this time of year coming into Winter, I like to make sure I have my skincare routine really set in place because my skin really does not deal well with cold weather. It is so sensitive and gets really dry and sore – which does not work well under makeup! Although thankfully my skin definitely feels much better right now. It’s in better condition than it ever was and I am 100% sure it’s all down to the routine I’ve been using for the last few months. So I thought I’d share it with you guys and let you know what’s really been working for me and might help some of you too!

Face

thumb_IMG_0735_1024

I might as well talk about these first, because these are the products that I use probably more than anything! The Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish “Hot Cloth Cleanser” is a staple in my routine. I tried it out for the first time about 18 months and I’ve loved it ever since. I ran out of it a few months ago and because I was determined to finish up some other products before buying anything new, I just reached for whatever else was next in my press but I definitely noticed the difference after a few weeks. My skin just didn’t feel as clean and I could nearly feel all the chemicals being poured onto my skin from the other products. So I went back and bought another bottle and I’m not leaving this stuff again! I’ve been pairing it with the Liz Earle Toner and “Gentle Face Exfoliator” (which I use about once a week) which is definitely the nicest exfoliator I’ve ever tried. I usually mix a small bit in with my hot cloth cleanser and it creates the softest, but effective exfoliant. I’ve mentioned Liz Earle products in plenty of other posts but I did a more in depth review of them a few months ago, which you can find here.

For moisturiser I use the Origins “Eye Doctor” under my eyes and the Clinique “Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion” all over my face everyday but when I really feel like my skin needs an extra bit of help I use a tiny bit of the Clinique “Moisture Surge” which usually does the trick!

thumb_IMG_0736_1024

I’ve tried to stop using makeup wipes to remove my makeup and it’s definitely made a big difference to the condition of my skin. Now I generally use a bit of the Garnier Micellar Water on some facial pads to loosen up all the makeup and then I’ll massage in about two pumps of the Clinique extra mild soap all around my face and wipe it off with a micellar wipe. I know it’s so much easier and quicker to just use a makeup wipe at the end of the day, but I feel like this does a much better job and your skin feels a lot better afterwards in comparison.

thumb_IMG_0726_1024

I like to try and make sure I use a facial mask once or twice a week to keep it in the best possible condition – it’s also an excuse to relax and pamper myself during the week! The Origins Clear Improvements “Charcoal Mask” and “Drink up Intensive’ have long been a favourite of mine and the combination of the two work really well together and make your face feel so soft and fresh afterwards. The First Aid Beauty “Purifying Mask with Red Clay” is only a recent purchase of mine that I got while in America but so far I am loving it! The only thing I’m not too keen on is trying to take it off; you have to peel it off and it just takes a little bit longer than others. I also picked up some travel sizes of the Glamglow mud treatments – the Youth Mud and the Super Mud clearing treatment which are what I like to use when I really want to cheer myself up and feel pampered. I love to use these maybe once or month or just before a special occasion to give my skin that extra boost.

Body

thumb_IMG_0737_1024

I think we’ve already established the fact that I am addicted to Soap and Glory products, right? Well, if not – I am! It’s probably one of my favourite drugstore brands not only for makeup but also the beauty and skincare products. Lately I’ve been loving the “Clean on Me” Body Wash – purely just for the smell! Although I usually always have a bottle of “Sugar Crush” lying around somewhere too but I’ve actually just run out so I’m waiting to stock up soon! Likewise, “The Scrub of Your Life” should be in this picture too but I couldn’t find the bottle when I was taking the photo – but seriously, that stuff is amazing. I’ve been using it pretty much nonstop for the last year and I still haven’t found anything better to replace it with!

Lately I’ve been using baby oil on my skin when I get out of the shower before my moisturiser and oh my god, the difference is unbelievable! I now understand why they always say “as soft as a baby’s bottom”, it really does help lock in all the moisture.  I’ve heard so many beauty bloggers raving about this over the past few months and now I definitely get the hype! I’ve been pairing it with my S&G “The Righteous Butter” (which is another must-have products, especially in Winter), I just love this combination.

And that’s it! I’d love to hear if you have used any of these products or what you prefer to use on a daily basis?

Aoife,

xo

3 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine | October 2015

Leave a Reply

