Photobook: AMERICA ’15: Part TWO

Hello again!
Well, it’s official – looking through all of these photos is make me miss America dreadfully! I just want to go back to the sunshine and where everyone seems so happy.

So, after a few days we left sunny Orlando for the port and set sail on our 7 day cruise around the Caribbean. I can’t even explain how amazing this was! I’ve been on a cruise before but I legit just couldn’t get over how big this ship was, especially in comparison to the last one – it literally felt like a city on board. The ship we were on was Royal Caribbean’s Freedom of the Seas.

IMG_1784

Royal Caribbean’s ‘Freedom of the Seas’ docked in Labadee, Haiti.

Oh and let me just put a little disclaimer here before I go any further – CRUISES ARE NOT FULL OF OLD, BORING PEOPLE!! Haha. I’ve heard that a few times and I’m just like, that could not be further from the truth! For anyone who likes a bit of sunshine, sea, shopping and travelling to new places (and of course, a but of luxury) will LOVE cruising. There’s so much entertainment during the day and night you won’t even know you’re sailing and you definitely won’t want to get off when the dreaded final day comes!

I loved that it was 7 days, because I felt it was the right amount of time split between relaxing by the pool and discovering new places! During the week, we visited Labadee in Haiti, Falmouth in Jamaica, GeorgeTown in Grand Caymen and Cozumel in Mexico.

IMG_1705 IMG_1706

How cute are these?! When we got to our cabin on the first night, these were waiting for us! Champagne, Red Velvet Cupcakes, Cheese Plate and Chocolate Strawberries.. Are you getting the idea that I love chocolate-covered strawberries yet? haha.

I spent most of the first few days trying to find my way around the ship – no joke, my family had to use walkie talkies to try and keep in contact/find each other hahaha! The things you do when you have no phone coverage. But it was kind of refreshing to be able to be ‘out-of-contact’ for a while.

cruise ship

This was part of the ‘Royal Promenade of the ship, which was absolutely beautiful. The architecture was just stunning! During the formal nights (there were two on our cruise), they had photographers at different stations around the ship where you could get some nice photos done…not going to lie, I did go a bit mad! But I figured, hey, if I’m after getting dolled up for a ‘formal’ night, I may as well get some pictures to prove it.

IMG_20150813_0019 IMG_20150813_0002

IMG_1727 IMG_1730

Although, when we were in Grand Caymen I definitely ticked something off my bucket list… I SWAM WITH DOLPHINS! AAAHH! Can you tell my excitement?! I was literally like a kid that morning, but it was soo much fun. It’s always something I’d wanted to do since watching Mary Kate and Ashley in the Bahamas haha.

CY4_3543

PicMonkey Collage

As you can see from the pictures, i was REALLY excited haha. Although please ignore my awkward gappy smile – I never realised how hard it was to be pulled along by a dolphin and try smile for a camera at the same time, oops!

I literally was devastated coming off the cruise, it was just so relaxing but I knew I had a few days in Cocoa Beach to look forward to before coming home so that made the last day a little more bearable! We stayed in the Hilton on Cocoa Beach but we had no idea until we got there that it was literally ON the beach! It was so gorgeous and really helped with the post-cruise depression.

IMG_1841 IMG_1854 IMG_1859 IMG_1867 IMG_1872

And that’s it! It was really nice being able to relive the trip through this photobook series – even if I do feel a little depressed looking at my surroundings now! I can’t wait to start planning my next trip, wherever that will be.. Have you any trips planned? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to get some suggestions for my next escape!

How is your week going?

Aoife

xo

Leave a Reply

