Blank Canvas Brushes – Review // August

Hello again my fellow beauty addicts!

Today I thought I’d share what I thought of my recent purchase of Blank Canvas brushes. I wanted to expand my brush collection and since I’d heard so many good things about Blank Canvas, I decided I’d try some out! I’ve been using them for the last few weeks NON STOP! My beloved Real Techniques brushes have fallen into the background as I’ve found myself reaching for these beauties day after day.

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 17.08.06 copy

Blank Canvas is an online-based Irish company, which aims to produce professional quality brushes at affordable prices and this is definitely something they have achieved! I was amazed when my brushes arrived as they really felt like high quality brushes, unlike other companies whose products are of equal or higher price but lesser quality. They were voted Europe’s Top Rated Cosmetic Brushes and once you use these, it is easy to see why.

pippa-palette

First off, I found their website really easy to navigate and find what I wanted. They also run special offers from time to time on their facebook page so I even managed to get 10% off my order, YAY! They sell a wide range of single brushes, along with numerous brush collections sets (which look to die for!) and makeup palettes. I’ve heard a lot of good things about their contour palette and ‘winging it’ eyeliner, and they also recently released a gorgeous makeup palette in collaboration with Pippa Ormond which I’m looking forward to getting my hands on before it sells out! You can check out the Pippa Palette here.

IMG_9994

There was so much choice regarding the brushes, I found it hard not to buy them all! But after looking online and watching some youtube videos (which I’ll link below) I decided on a couple of face brushes (F20 Foundation, F15 Highlight, F25 Powder, F30 Contour and E36 Concealer Brushes) and eye brushes (E23 Pencil, E24 Flat Shader, E26 Blending, E32 Tapered Crease and E44 Flat Brushes) which I will review below.

I was so impressed with how quick the delivery was, they were offering free delivery and my order was dispatched and delivered in about 4-5 days! It also came in a super cute pink package, which made it even better! I was excited to try them out and see how they fared compared to some of my other brushes and here’s how it went:

F20 Flat Buffer Brush (HD Face Collection) – €14.99

I was perhaps most excited to try out this brush out of everything as I’d heard so many people raving about it over the past few months! It’s a flat top kabuki style brush, which is perfect for applying liquid, powder or mineral foundations. You only need to use a tiny bit of product with this brush which is great, because it blends the foundation out so evenly on your skin. It really does help create the HD ‘airbrushed’ type look that everyone is after and makes your face look flawless! Another beauty about the brush, is it doesn’t shed unlike some of my other brushes – there’s nothing worse than finishing your makeup and then having to pick little hairs off your face. This brush will definitely be staying in my favourites for a while. It also comes in a cute little retractable version too which would be perfect for travelling.

IMG_0012

F20 – Flat Buffer Brush (HD Face)

F15 Small Contour/Highlight Brush – €14.99

This is a great brush as it’s so multipurpose. I’ve heard it’s great for blending out bronzer and contour as the tapered shape helps get really into the hollows of your cheekbones, jaw, temples etc. But I’ve been using this for applying highlighter and so far, I’m loving it! The bristles are so soft and allows for a clean and precise application. This brush definitely works better with powder products however, but I have tried it with some liquid highlighters. Either way, this would be a great brush if you were going away because you could use it to apply your powder, bronzer, blush and highlighter! What more could you want out of one brush.

FullSizeRender 4

F20 Flat Buffer Brush

F25 Large Powder/Bronzer Brush – €13.99

I’ve been on the search for a decent powder brush for a while now so I was so happy when I found this! I previously had the large powder brush from Real Techniques, but I felt it was just way too big and didn’t distribute the product evenly so I was delighted when I used this F25 from Blank Canvas that it gave such an even and flawless coverage. The bristles are super soft and fluffy and the brush is just the right size for applying powder.

FullSizeRender 8

F25 Large Powder/Concealer Brush

F30 Sculpting Brush – €17.99

Let me start by saying this brush is a MUST for contouring! It’s very similar to MAC’s 163 Flat Contour Price but at a fraction of the price. This brush is perfect for shaping out the hollows of your cheekbones, down along your jaw and up into your temples. I’ve used it with both powder and cream contouring products and it works perfectly with both, it just helps create a really defined and precise look. I usually use another fluffy brush to just blend out the lines of this if it’s just a daytime look and I don’t want it to be too harsh (the F15 would be perfect for this). You can also get a slightly smaller version of this brush – F32- which would be ideal for contouring along your noses or for smaller faces. Either way, if you’re looking to contour like KimK then you need this brush in your life!

FullSizeRender 2

F30 Sculpt Brush

E23 Short Pencil Brush – €7.99

This is your typical pencil brush that is essential to creating that smoky eye! I generally use it for applying colour in my crease or outer corner where I may only want to apply a small bit of product in a precise place. The bristles are so soft which allows it to blend out the product nicely, which is why I also use it for applying product under my eye to help create a true smokey eye. This brush can also be bought as part of a two-sided brush with the E24.

FullSizeRender

E23 Short Pencil Brush

E24 Flat Shader/Lay Down Brush – €6.99

This is another essential brush that I think everybody needs in their collection. It’s hard to find a brush that is dense enough to pick up enough product yet with soft enough bristle to allow for a smooth and precise application of shadow on the lid, but Blank Canvas definitely achieved it all with this brush. I’ve used it for applying both powder and cream shadows and haven’t come across any problems so far. The E24 would be similar to MAC’s 239 but at a fraction of the price.

FullSizeRender 5

E24 Flat Shader brush

E26 Blending Brush – €7.99

If you were only going to buy one eyeshadow brush, this would be the one I’d advise you to get! No matter what eye look you’re aiming to create, a small fluffy brush is essential because as we all know blending is key!! What I liked about using this brush was that the bristles don’t leave that scratchy feeling on your eyelids, and it really helps blend out all the colours leaving a flawless look. I’ve seen some people use this brush for concealer too, but I haven’t tried that myself as I still prefer to use my Real Techniques Miracle Complexions Sponge.

FullSizeRender 7

E26 Blending Brush

E32 Tapered Crease Brush – €7.99 

This brush is gorgeous for applying colour to the crease line or to darken the outer corners! The soft bristles help blend out the eyeshadow as you’re applying it and like the other brushes, it doesn’t irritate the skin under my eyes which is often a problem I have with eye brushes. I prefer to use this with powder products, but that’s just my preference as it works perfectly with cream products too.

FullSizeRender 6

E32 Tapered Crease Brush

E36 Large Concealer/Flat Shader Brush – €7.99

As I said above, I’ve been obsessed with using my Miracle Complexions sponge for blending out my concealer as it leaves such a flawless complexion but I really wanted to branch out and try something different, so here I am with the E36! I love how the bristles are medium-dense so it picks up a nice amount of product instead of wasting it like other brushes do. After testing it out for a while, I still prefer using my sponge for my under-eye area, but I love this brush for packing on concealer in areas of my face that are red or on any blemishes, as it really covers them up without making the skin look cakey.

IMG_0013

E36 Large Concealer/Flat Shader Brush

E44 Flat Brush – €7.99

This brush is identical to MAC’s 212. so if you’re looking for a dupe then here you are! I’ve been using this mostly for placing product and liner under my eyes and it has been working like a beauty. Because the bristles are so firm, it really allows you to get a precise and steady line which is why a lot of people often use it for applying eyeliner. It’s shape makes it versatile enough to work as a brow brush, allowing you to add brow gels or powders to add more shape and texture to your brush. So once again, its another multipurpose brush that would be great for travelling or if you’re just starting your collection.

FullSizeRender 3

E44 Flat Brush

I would definitely recommend these to you if you’re looking to invest in some brushes, although you don’t need them all – I just wanted to expand a bit, but most of these brushes are multi-purpose so you could easily use one to apply a few different parts of your makeup! Let me know if you’ve tried any of these, or if you decide to check them out yourself!

Check out the Blank Canvas website here!

Aoife

xo

** This post was not endorsed or sponsored in any way, I just really loved these products and as usual I wanted to share it with all of you **

6 thoughts on “Blank Canvas Brushes – Review // August

  1. Beautitude says:

    Definitely need to get new brushes, I’ve been meaning to try Blank Canvas for a while they look great 🙂
    Loved reading this, you write so well!

    Fab blog by the way, followed you 🙂 be great if you would check out mine 🙂

    Amie x

Leave a Reply

