30 Day Yoga Challenge – REVIEW! | 14 Aug

Well hello there bloggers,

Today I am finally getting back to you on my experiences with the 30 day yoga challenge! I know it took me a while to finish and I definitely took a few days break in between it all but I think that’s the beauty of this challenge – there is no pressure involved! There are no set requirements of what you should be doing or how you should be feeling, it’s all about taking it in your stride and using simple movements to help your body become more relaxed and achieve that zen status… well, that’s what I was kept saying to make myself feel better anyway!

As you all know, I was a tad skeptical about this challenge at the start because the only thing I knew about yoga was the people who did it were usually unnaturally flexible and got to use bright-coloured mats (oh I had a lot to learn!) I decided however to give myself wholeheartedly into this phenomenon for the 30 or so days it required to complete the challenge to see if it could truly make a difference and if you can excuse the pun, it was definitely a mind-opener.

The first thing I realised was how accessible and simple it was to take part in the 30 day yoga challenge and how easy it was to fit it into your day. The videos can all be found on youtube and range from between 10-20 minutes for each day which is perfect if you have a busy life and need something to fit around your schedule. I found it easiest to do it first thing in the morning because it really helped wake me up and get my day off to a nice start! I soon learned yoga was not all about sitting cross-legged on a mat or stretching your splits as far as they would go but in fact it centered around easing your muscles into positions which would help restore your body and using your breath to center your mind to prepare it for the day ahead.

Not only did it improve my physical flexibility, it also helps with your mental flexibility as well by teaching you ways to calm your mind. It shows you different techniques to ease your breaths and relax your muscles allowing you to alleviate any stresses or tensions you’re experiencing. I think it’s fair to say that taking part in this challenge definitely helped manage my anxiety in more ways than one although I think the most obvious is that it gave me an outlet to focus on. It made me take 20 minutes every day to do something for me and to focus on what I needed at that very moment. I’ve actually become quite fond of yoga and pilates since and although I feel like a 30 year old ‘suburban house-wife’  saying it, there is nothing I love more than waking up and knowing I’ve a yogalates class to look forward to – hand me my slippers! And grab me a cup of tea while you’re at it.

So I may not be a master warrior zen princess or be able to achieve a perfect ‘crows pose’ but I am appreciating my morning stretches a bit more and embracing the feeling of tired muscles, so that’s enough for me. You never know, I might even go back to the start and do it all over again..

What about your experiences with this challenge? Any feedback for me? If you would like to know more about the challenge then leave me a comment below or check out ’30 Day Yoga Challenge’ on YouTube.

* I just want to add a little side note here before I sign off: I’ve decided to take a little detox from the internet/my phone etc for the next week or so I can truly relax for a while and not have to deal with any drama etc! This means I will probably be missing for a post or two this week, but everything should be back to normal by the end of next week. I hope you don’t mind but sometimes I think it’s necessary to have a complete clear out to eliminate any stresses and clarify my mindset. Until then I hope you have a fabulous time and enjoy these last few days of Summer*

Namaste,

Aoife

xo

Twitter.   Instagram.

Recent Posts:

1. Motivational Monday: Cause You Gotta Have Faith! | 11 Aug

2. Sunday Summary | 10 Aug

3. Room OverHaul | 8 Aug

One thought on “30 Day Yoga Challenge – REVIEW! | 14 Aug

Leave a Reply

