July Favourites | 01 August

Hey there readers!

How are you all? Once again it’s that time of the month again to speak about some of the products I have LOVED using this month and why. Also, is it just me or does it seem strange that today is August 2nd?! How is that even possible? Is should be illegal for summer to go by so quickly. Anyway, on to my July Favourites, as always I’ll leave all the product details and prices at the bottom of this post.

One of the first things  on my list today is the Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ Collection – this has been out forever and even though I tried some of the foundation a few months ago I never really got round to using it properly until now and honestly, it deserves all the hype it gets! It has such a light texture which reminds me of my Benefit ‘Hello Flawless Oxygen WOW’ foundation because they both leave you with a really flawless, dewy finish which is perfect for day time or any time really when you feel like wearing a more natural, toned-down look. Because the weather has been so nice for the last few weeks, this was perfect on my skin during the day because it felt more like a BB cream than a foundation and it has a SPF of 15 in it, which is always a big bonus in my opinion! I used the shade ‘201 Classic Beige ‘ which I paired with the matching concealer. I mainly used the concealer in the under eye area as opposed to covering any blemishes or break outs (which trust me, I had a few!) because I still feel my Collection Lasting perfection concealer holds more coverage, but the Wake Me Up concealer has a gorgeous yellowy tones in it which definitely brightens up your skin and gives you a radiant glow.

IMG_0159 IMG_0160

The next thing on my list is also a foundation! If you’ve been following me on twitter over the last few months you’ll see I recently purchased and instantly fell in love with Nars Sheer Glow foundation, so I felt this rightfully deserved a place on my July Favourites list! I won’t go on too much about it here but I don’t know what I did without this foundation before. I have the shade ‘Medium 2 – Santa Fe’ and it suits my skin perfectly; I’ve been using this on days I was going out or doing anything as it has more of a velvet finish and although it’s not as full coverage as some, it’s really easy to build it up on your skin easily without it look pasty. The shade I have has gorgeous peachy undertones which I find really brightens up my skin and gives it a natural, healthy glow. It may be a bit more expensive but it is definitely worth it for the quality alone not to mention the longevity of the bottle. My only problem with it is the fact it has no pump, only a screw top lid which I have subsequently broke so I luckily the woman in the store had a spare tester pump which she kindly let me have, yay!

IMG_0186

Another thing I’ve been loving this month is The Balm Nude’tude palette; this has been my go-to eye palette all month and was one of the things I knew I’d have to bring with me this weekend when I was travelling because it’s just amazing. I already a full-length review on this palette earlier this week, which you can read here so go check it out and also check out the rest of their products at thebalm.com.

IMG_0003

From L-R: Sassy, Stubborn, Selfish, Sophisticated, Sexy, Serious, Snobby, Stand-Offish, Sultry, Seductive, Silly, Sleek

IMG_0002

I love summer because it gives you full access to use brighter colours and I’ve really been trying to embrace this because I know as soon as Autumn comes I’ll be wanting to go straight back to darker eyes and lips! So one of the lipsticks I’ve been loving lately is part of the MAC Amplitude collection ‘Girl About Town’, this is such a pretty colour for summer because it’s so bright and vivid, not to mention the pigmentation is great – it just slides on and does not come off! It’s one of those fab lipsticks which will just last all day.

IMG_0505 IMG_0506

While we’re on lips I might as well mention the Nivea ‘Lip Butter’ collection because I’ve been using this non stop for the past two months! It’s definitely replaced my Maybelline Baby Lips because it is just SO hydrating and feels so good on your lips. I have the ‘Vanilla and Macadamia’ tub which smells absolutely divine like white chocolate and vanilla mm but I’m also going to be trying the ‘Raspberry Rosé’ and ‘Caramel Cream’ version real soon too because they are just too good to miss. If only they were in a stick form rather than a tub but you know, I think I can handle it just for the smell – it’s that good!

photo (2)

Pic credit to beautiesinbloom.blogspot.com

I heard so many people talking about the Soap & Glory Archery Pen that I just had to try it and guess what – I love it!  I’ve been using it in the shade ‘Brownie Points’ for about 3 weeks now and it’s such an amazing product! I use it mostly to give my eyebrows a slight definition and keep them tidy for just a polished daytime brow and this is so easy to do with the pen side because the brush is so small you can just do small little strokes and it really fills them in while keeping them look very natural. Although I have tried using the crayon side, I find the pen so much handier and quicker but I suppose it’s just personal preference – either way there’s something for everyone.

007

Pic Credit to Legallylippy.blogspot.com

Okay, that’s all I can think of for the moment – these are just a few of the products which have really stood out to me over the last week and have been constantly in my handbag waiting to be used! I’d love to hear what some of you have been liking lately, I love chatting to you all 🙂 Sorry if this post is a tad all over the place, I was trying to rush to get it done so I could upload it before I went away! But things will be back to normal next week, promise!

 See you soon,

Aoife

xo

Products Mentioned:

Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ Foundation : €10.99

Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ Concealer: €6.99

Benefit ‘Hello Flawless Oxygen WOW’ Foundation: €35.00

Collection ‘Lasting Perfection’ Concealer: €6.49

Nars ‘Sheer Glow’ Foundation: €40.00

The Balm ‘Nude’tude’ Palette: €34.45

MAC ‘Girl About Town’ Lipstick: €19.00

Nivea Lip Butter ‘Vanilla and Macadamia’: €2.99 

Soap & Glory ‘Archery’: €13.00

 

Twitter.     Instagram.

Recent Posts:

1. Review: The Balm ‘Nude’tude’ Palette| 30 July 

2. Motivational Monday: Just Say Yes! | 28 July

3. Day Trip! | OOTD + MOTD| 26 July

6 thoughts on “July Favourites | 01 August

Leave a Reply

