Motivational Monday – Embracing the Difference.

“Today I’m making the biggest move of my life. I’m emigrating. I’m finally taking the leap and emigrating from my mind.”

                                                                                                             

Have you ever wondered what it is, that makes you unique? Why you don’t look like Cara Delevingne, or sing like Beyonce? Or wish you could have a flatter stomach or thigh gap? What is it, that makes everyone constantly strive to be something else – someone that they’re just not, instead of looking in the mirror; taking a psychological selfie and appreciating what they DO have! I’ll be the first to admit I’ve never been good at taking a step back and doing this… I have the worst inner-critic and I’ve always been such a perfectionist about everything – but that doesn’t make it right and it certainly doesn’t make life any easier! I learnt this the hard way not so long ago and ever since then I’ve tried to be a little bit more accepting, but it’s not always easy! However, something I heard last week stuck with me and really  embodied this whole notion of accepting yourself just the way you are and made things sort of click for me so I thought I’d share with you guys. During a talk from journalist Una Mullally (such a fab woman, I’ll link her bio below so check her out!) a lot of really inspirational messages were shared, but something in particular she said really resonated with me:

“Embrace your differences…Being an outsider creates perspective”

I mean, how true is that. Nobody else can see things the way you can, think the way you can or do things the way you can; basically nobody else can be YOU so why do we put that all to waste in order to be something that we’re not? Every single time we try to change a part of ourselves in order to ‘fit in’ with a certain group, we lose a little bit of our creativity, originality and personality… is it really worth it just to be “normal”? Instead of trying to conform to society norms, shouldn’t we just embrace the fact that yes, we are a little bit different but yes, that’s perfectly alright! Actually it’s more than alright, it’s FANTASTIC. Voice your questions, your opinions and most importantly your dreams – Voice the fact, that you are you! This is something that I’m seriously going to try and work on in the future because listening to what other people think and trying to fit in will not help me get to where I want to be, or do what I want to do or make the changes I want to. But perhaps being a little bit more mindful of myself, my feelings and my differences might just help! And you know, now that I’ve written it down on here it kind of makes it official that I have to stick with it otherwise that would just be a tad awkward.. cue the shaming! I know this has been sort of a mix-topic post, but I think the message is pretty steadfast – be yourself, accept yourself and love yourself ❤

Hope you’re having a happy Monday and are appreciating all the good things about yourself and your life! Also, I’d love if you checked out an article I wrote for SpunOut.ie this week about their 2 day Women’s Academy here.

Aoife

xo

Twitter.        Instagram.

*Check out Una Mullally’s profile in the Irish Times here*

Recent Posts:

1. Dirty Dancing the Musical Review

2. Mini Beauty Haul

3. June Favourites

7 thoughts on “Motivational Monday – Embracing the Difference.

  1. Lia grogan says:

    Just found your blog Aoife! It’s fab 👌 , I especially love this post because you’re so right. Also una Mullally knows how it is, diversity and differences make everything interesting. 👍

Leave a Reply

