Review: Liz Earle ‘Daily Essentials’

Hello again!

So a few days ago, I mentioned this skincare brand during my June Favourites (which you can read here)  but I was so impressed with the products I tried from the Liz Earle collection that I just had to give them a separate review!

I had seen bloggers such as Zoella and Sprinkle of Glitter talk about this brand plenty of times before so when I was stuck for a new cleanser, I trusted their advice (once again!) and headed off to Boots to have a look for myself. Actually, Boots in Liffey Valley Shopping Centre is one of the few shops in Ireland which stock this brand so if you were thinking of getting it, I’d suggest having a look on their website first as it’s a whole bunch easier. It also works out a bit cheaper and they do offers quite regularly too. I’ll link all the individual product details at the bottom of this post to make it easier to find! I purchased the ‘Hot Cleanse Cleanser – Starter Pack’, Instant Boost Skin Tonic and the Skin Repair Moisturiser for dry/sensitive skin  which make up the ‘Daily Essentials’ Package.

I was really intrigued with the Cleanser because of its method – you rub it onto dry skin (“Have they gone crazy?!”) then ‘polish’ it off with a warm Muslin Cloth (“wait..it actually works, they’re so NOT crazy!”). The idea is, the warmth of the cloth opens up your pores and then exfoliates your skin oh so softly and gently. The best bit is, it feels so nice on your skin, the product is so light and it really does add a really healthy glow to your skin. It also suitable for all skin types which is really handy too. The Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kits come with two full-sized muslin cloths, or you can buy them separately in a pack of two for €5.00 (£4.50).

Next, the toner! This is one of the first toners I’ve actually incorporated into my daily skincare routine because I just never liked their texture and how they felt on your skin but this is completely different! There’s no alcohol in it, so it doesn’t leave a tightening/dry feeling on your skin. Instead, it’s full of Aloe Vera, Calendula, Camomile, Cucumber and Vitamin E to ‘vitalise, soothe and refresh’ your skin. This slightly confused me when I first started using it, as even though it had a gorgeous floral scent I felt like I was just dabbing water on my skin and I was a bit worried I was wasting my time because I couldn’t feel it tightening my pores- then I realised, you’re not supposed to feel it working! That’s the beauty of a good product, and this certainly is a beauty because even after a few weeks I can definitely see a difference and my skin feels a lot more refreshed and revitalized.

Finally, the Skin Repair Moisturiser. As I said earlier, I decided to get the dry/sensitive skin option as my skin has felt really dry and dehydrated but they definitely do cater for all skin types with a lighter version for those with combination/oily skin types. The main ingredients in this moisturiser are Borage and Avocado Oils to hydrate and smooth the skin along with Anti-Oxidants Beta-Carotene and Vitamin E to help repair the skin against further moisture loss and dryness. A little really goes a long way with this product as it spreads so easily on your skin, I’ve been using this little pot for at least 4 weeks and I’ve barely scratched the surface!

Liz Earle - Skin Repair Moisturiser -(€23.00)

Liz Earle – Skin Repair Moisturiser -(€23.00)

The only downside I found with this moisturiser is there is no SPF in it which obviously isn’t good, but we just need to wear some over it instead. Actually, I recently found out that your SPF needs to be on top of your makeup to truly work and protect your skin from UV rays – I had always just assumed that you were protected once you wore it in some format on your skin but apparently not!

So overall, I’d happily give the Liz Earle Daily Essentials a 4.5/5! It would be a full 5 except for the lack of SPF – apparently, they made a conscious decision not to add any into their products as they conducted research and found that chemical sunfactors can cause irritation to sensitive skin if used on a daily basis. Apart from that, I don’t think I could fault these products. I’m not saying my skin is anyway perfect – far from it, but this has really helped clear up my skin and keep it looking healthy and glowing, so even if I’m not in the mood to wear makeup, I don’t feel like my face is a big red mess! (Well, apart from the last two weeks since I’ve had a stress break-out but I’ll have a post coming up soon on how to alleviate this!)

Hope this helps some of you and if you’ve tried any of these products, what did you think? I’m currently on the hunt for a new eye-cream, so I’d gladly welcome any suggestions! So far I’ve heard really good comments about Kiehls Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado and Origins EyeDoctor (but I’m not sure if they even sell this anymore?!) Anyway, I’d love to hear any of your recommendations.

 

Product Details – Liz Earle:

Hot Cloth Polish 100ml Pump – Buy Online here for €16.00

Hot Cloth Polish Starter Pack 100ml pump + 2 cloths- Buy Online here for €17.75

Instant Boost Skin Tonic 200ml – Buy Online here for €16.00

Skin Repair Moisturiser 50ml – Buy Online here for €23.00

Skincare ‘Daily Essentials’ Package July Offer (Includes free shampoo and conditioner)- Buy Online here for €56.00

or Essentials Travel Size/ Try – Me kit – Buy Online here for € 27.75    (This is such a great idea for those who want small samples to test the range out for a few weeks before buying full size products!)

 

Happy Monday!

Aoifebelle

xo

Twitter.   Instagram.

4 thoughts on “Review: Liz Earle ‘Daily Essentials’

  1. nidhikrishnan says:

    Liz Earle isnt big in my country but I am definitely interested to give it a try! Please check out my blog. I have recently done a skin care series and posted my fifth and final instalment. It approaches skincare scientifically and you will learn about your skin type, common skin dilemmas, how to develop a routine for you, skin anatomy and my personal favourite all about those common fancy active ingredients you hear about in skincare. Follow and I will be sure to share the love around xox your local bohemian

Leave a Reply

